HD and DVD Bargains

HD and DVD Bargains - The UK's premier bargain hunting community


Register
-->
Reply

kempy619
Registered User

kempy619's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 686
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
kempy619
Quote  
10-07-2008, 10:26 PM
rushmydvds.co.uk

i just noticed these on one of the ads here on this site, does anyone know how there able to sell most of these dvds? and wether there proper region 2 dvds?
Reply With Quote
kempy619 is offlineReport Post

KeyserSoze
Registered User

KeyserSoze's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,672
Thanks: 51
Thanked 48 Times in 35 Posts
KeyserSoze is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote  
10-07-2008, 10:40 PM
doubt if they are proper region 2 as they all state Region Free/Open Region etc. The ratings are G which I think are Aussie rating so could be Aussie releases but not sure. I wouldn't risk ordering from the personally but someone else may have done
__________________
The Greatest Trick The Devil Ever Pulled Was Convincing The World He Didn't Exist


Reply With Quote
KeyserSoze is offlineReport Post
KevD
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 722
Thanks: 0
Thanked 28 Times in 18 Posts
KevD is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to KevD
Quote  
10-07-2008, 11:35 PM
I noticed it before, think they were clearly Pirated DVDs as many are OOP and many 2-Disc DVDs are only listed as one on the site. Defo dodgey

When I noticed the banner I Pmd Wilko and I think he got it blocked from the Google ads as I havent seen it since.
Reply With Quote
KevD is offlineReport Post
wilko
Administrator

wilko's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,660
Thanks: 459
Thanked 742 Times in 463 Posts
Blog Entries: 4
wilko is a splendid one to beholdwilko is a splendid one to beholdwilko is a splendid one to beholdwilko is a splendid one to beholdwilko is a splendid one to beholdwilko is a splendid one to beholdwilko is a splendid one to behold
Location: Up North

Send a message via Yahoo to wilko
Quote  
11-07-2008, 07:51 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevD View Post
I noticed it before, think they were clearly Pirated DVDs as many are OOP and many 2-Disc DVDs are only listed as one on the site. Defo dodgey

When I noticed the banner I Pmd Wilko and I think he got it blocked from the Google ads as I havent seen it since.
Yeah, I've added it to the blocked ads list - let me know if it's still appearing, however.
Reply With Quote
wilko is offlineReport Post
javier
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
javier is on a distinguished road
Quote  
20-07-2008, 02:13 AM
Rushmudvds.co.uk

Hi-

I'm sorry to hear the site was blocked; Why don't you just contact them, instead of blocking them, sight unseen? Not everyone is scamming on the web.

I buy from the site - I was unsure when I first bought from rushmydvds.co.uk, too. Before I ordered, I asked them what "open region" means (you can email them from the site; they're very responsive.) They told me that UK dvds have a hologram because we can afford expensive duplicating equipment. Region 2 dvds come with holograms to protect against counterfeiting. "Open region" dvds do not.

My movies arrived fast and played just fine. I have since ordered from them a number of times with no problem. I told my brother and he's bought from them as well. My son likes that we can watch more of his favorite movies. It's pretty cheap to just find out.
Reply With Quote
javier is offlineReport Post
wilko
Administrator

wilko's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,660
Thanks: 459
Thanked 742 Times in 463 Posts
Blog Entries: 4
wilko is a splendid one to beholdwilko is a splendid one to beholdwilko is a splendid one to beholdwilko is a splendid one to beholdwilko is a splendid one to beholdwilko is a splendid one to beholdwilko is a splendid one to behold
Location: Up North

Send a message via Yahoo to wilko
Quote  
20-07-2008, 09:32 AM
The simple fact is this:
Most studios DO NOT provide the latest movies as "open region". Any retailer selling such movies as "open region" are clearly selling PIRATE movies.

HDandDVDBargains CAN NOT, and DO NOT wish to be associated with companies that sell pirated material and will actively remove or block such companies from placing ads on our site.

Unfortunately, it is a bit of a battle, because we don't choose the ads that display on the site - they are chosen by Google and we can only block them after they are brought to my attention.

I have a feeling that you are directly connected to the site in question.
Reply With Quote
wilko is offlineReport Post
wilko
Administrator

wilko's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,660
Thanks: 459
Thanked 742 Times in 463 Posts
Blog Entries: 4
wilko is a splendid one to beholdwilko is a splendid one to beholdwilko is a splendid one to beholdwilko is a splendid one to beholdwilko is a splendid one to beholdwilko is a splendid one to beholdwilko is a splendid one to behold
Location: Up North

Send a message via Yahoo to wilko
Quote  
20-07-2008, 09:39 AM
Let me give you some examples:

Beauty and the beast has been deleted for quite some time, and as with all Disney titles has NEVER been available as an "open region" title. The same applies to "Snow White".

So, if this company has genuine copies of the above two movies, then they would be charging considerably more than £13.99 for them.

My advice?

1) NEVER buy a Disney DVD that does not display the Disney hologram - it's a fake.

2) NEVER buy a Disney DVD that is advertised as "open region", "region 0", "multi region" or "region free". They are FAKE (unless you are looking for blu ray, in which case Disney DO release region free titles).
Reply With Quote
wilko is offlineReport Post
grilli
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,476
Thanks: 11
Thanked 32 Times in 24 Posts
grilli is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote  
23-07-2008, 03:29 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by javier View Post
Hi-

I'm sorry to hear the site was blocked; Why don't you just contact them, instead of blocking them, sight unseen? Not everyone is scamming on the web.

I buy from the site - I was unsure when I first bought from rushmydvds.co.uk, too. Before I ordered, I asked them what "open region" means (you can email them from the site; they're very responsive.) They told me that UK dvds have a hologram because we can afford expensive duplicating equipment. Region 2 dvds come with holograms to protect against counterfeiting. "Open region" dvds do not.

My movies arrived fast and played just fine. I have since ordered from them a number of times with no problem. I told my brother and he's bought from them as well. My son likes that we can watch more of his favorite movies. It's pretty cheap to just find out.
a fruedian slip maybe? lol
__________________
* Wii:3669 9108 2044 6008 * Mario Kart:4081 5652 6199 * PSN:jgrilli *
Reply With Quote
grilli is offlineReport Post
wilko
Administrator

wilko's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,660
Thanks: 459
Thanked 742 Times in 463 Posts
Blog Entries: 4
wilko is a splendid one to beholdwilko is a splendid one to beholdwilko is a splendid one to beholdwilko is a splendid one to beholdwilko is a splendid one to beholdwilko is a splendid one to beholdwilko is a splendid one to behold
Location: Up North

Send a message via Yahoo to wilko
Quote  
23-07-2008, 04:43 PM
Yeah, this guy is obviously connected to the site in question, and they are obviously selling pirate DVDs.
Reply With Quote
wilko is offlineReport Post
grilli
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,476
Thanks: 11
Thanked 32 Times in 24 Posts
grilli is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote  
23-07-2008, 05:37 PM
the text is too small to notice the part I've highlighted in bold lol
__________________
* Wii:3669 9108 2044 6008 * Mario Kart:4081 5652 6199 * PSN:jgrilli *
Reply With Quote
grilli is offlineReport Post
Reply

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.0.1

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:57 PM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.0.0 VBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys.